What are the Chakras?

official gray logo.png


(pronounced Shock-ruhs)

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means "wheel." The chakras are similar to wheels in that they are spinning vortexes of energy.  The chakras are located along the spine from the base to the crown and they are the conduits through which Universal Life Energy flows.  Chakras take in energy that the body receives from the world, and manipulates it for the body's benefit, before radiating the resulting energy back out of the body.

There are seven main chakras.  Each of them coincide with our endocrine system.  They deal with different aspects of our lives, addressing all levels of experience ~ body, mind, and spirit ~ and direct us to those areas where we might be functioning out of balance.  Any blocks or restrictions to either reception or expression of this life energy will result in a dysfunction of the organism as a whole, and may be expressed as disease, discomfort, fear, lack of energy, stagnation or an emotional imbalance. 

Energy blockages or energy imbalances in the chakras

Imbalances in the chakras are known as energy blocks. When there is unreleased emotion such as fear, anger or guilt accumulated from past experiences or when there’s been a lack of nurturing, love, and encouragement during the developmental period, the energy flows less freely to/from the chakras.  A person’s illness often first manifests in the chakras before the physical body.  The primary chakras influence your health greatly; the health concerns related to them are caused by an imbalance in the chakra itself, from an emotional or spiritual cause, which then manifests into a physical ailment
Benefits of Open and Balanced Chakras

Apart from making you regain and maintain good health, it also helps you to feel totally alive and have the ability to tackle your life’s challenges and problems in the best way they ought to be handled. You will relate well with people, have a better love life and the ability to express yourself, be heard and understood and have good judgment. Your spiritual awareness also deepens as you experience the true meaning of life.

The Seven Main Chakras

The 1st Chakra (Root- Red) governs Physical Needs and Security. What keeps you grounded and centered
The 2nd Chakra (Sacral-Orange) governs Sexuality, Emotions, and Desires. Your relationship with significant other as well as your creative center. Creativity/Joy/Relationships
The 3rd Chakra (Solar Plexus-Yellow) governs Power. Your confidence/self esteem, your self worth and energy level.
The 4th Chakra (Heart-Green) governs Love, Forgiveness, and Compassion. Your love for self and others.
The 5th Chakra (Throat-Blue) governs Communication. Your ability to express yourself and how you are with boundaries
The 6th Chakra (Brow-Indigo) governs Intuition and Reasoning. Your "third eye"
The 7th Chakra (Crown-Violet/White) governs Spirituality and Understanding. Your connection to Divinity/Universe.